• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other subscribers
  • The Cat

Amazing what you can learn…

I was doing research for a class writing project when I stumbled across a source of names and addresses for everyone who lived on West Brookline St. in 1883–quite a find, since I’m trying to track what happened to the people who lived on this block from the time the houses were first occupied on…

Turns out, 178 West Brookline (the building my condo is in) was home to the Headmaster of the Franklin School for Girls–the guy was a well-known educator. I first stumbled upon him when I was reading a copy of the 1881 list of members of the Shawmut Congregational Church (which used to be where Liquid Hair Salons is now on the corner of Tremont and West Brookline) and noticed that he lived here — quite a coincidence.

 

2 Responses

  1. I am doing some history on my relatives and found out that Dr. W. T McElveen, performed my great great grandfathers wedding and listed his home address as 178 W Brookline St. I was wondering if the original church is still there? Look McElveen up on google…he was infamous.

Leave a comment